ABOUT OUR 30 HOUR TEEN DRIVER EDUCATION CLASS
At Learn to Drive Colorado, our state-certified, 30-Hour classroom course is unlike anything else out there. Our class sizes are small, only twelve students, so your teen doesn’t get lost in the shuffle. As well, our class covers everything required by the state plus the entire Colorado Driver Handbook. Not much sitting around and daydreaming goes on here. Every student starts the course with their own LTD car and LTD Bank Account. (Okay, the car and money aren’t real. We wish they were.) Through a unique game that occurs during the class, students learn about the realities of car ownership and the consequences of good and bad decisions. Depending on the choices they make, how they participate in class and a little bit of luck, the students can win real-life prizes (like a gift certificate to Subway). Our students really learn the Denver Driving School material because they interact with it differently.
In addition, we’ve teamed up with Action Karting to create our Go-Kart program where students actually practice the important skills discussed in class. This two-hour program is key to integrating many important, Colorado defensive driving skills talked about in the class and it provides hands-on learning. Plus, it’s just plain fun! (Instead of talking about driving, we’re actually doing it.) In addition, it’s a great break in the middle of an intensive week of study and learning. For some students, this will be their first time driving a motorized vehicle. We like that it’s done in a controlled, safe environment.
At the end of the class, your teen will be issued a 30 Hour Certificate of Completion. The DMV will need this certificate when your teen applies for their learner’s permit. As well, if your teen is, at least, 14 years old and 11 months old, they will be eligible to take the Colorado Written Permit Test. If they pass, they’ll be issued a Certificate of Completion for the Colorado Written Knowledge Test ( Permit Test). These state certificates are part of the documents they’ll need when they go into the DMV to get their Denver, Colorado driver’s permit issued once they are 15 years old. (For students who aren’t yet the required age, we will give them a practice permit test at the end of class. Once they’re ready to take the test and since that’s included in the class, they can come back to either of our locations Monday through Friday and we’ll proctor the permit test in our quiet classroom.)
Our Denver driving classes are usually scheduled for five days–six hours each day–during school holidays to allow students with busy schedules to fulfill this requirement quickly. We also find that it’s easier to take the class this way given busy school, homework and sports activities. The class usually runs from 10 to 4:30 Monday through Friday. On the day of the Go Kart program, we meet one hour earlier at the track. (Please check our Thanksgiving and Christmas Break schedule as the days may be different during those holidays.) Early registration is suggested as our classes fill quickly.
COLORADO DRIVER INSTRUCTION PERMIT REQUIREMENTS
If your teen is starting the Graduated Driver’s License process between 14-1/2 and 15-1/2 years old, the DMV requires proof that your teen has completed thirty hours of Driver’s Ed either online or in the classroom. (We have both options.) At the end of each class, our programs includes two attempts at the permit test as part of the class. If your teen is not yet 14 years old and 11 months, we will give them a practice permit test at the end of the class while the other students are taking their written knowledge test. Once they reach the required age, they’re invited to come back anytime Monday through Friday, 8AM – 5PM to take their Colorado Driver’s Permit Test in the quiet of our office. When they pass, they’ll be given a completion form to take to the DMV where they’ll get their Colorado Driver’s Permit issued.
Once the permit is issued, they’re required to drive for a full 365 days before taking the Colorado Drive Test for their license. They’ll also be required to keep a driving log to validate fifty hours of Behind-the-Wheel driving time (with at least ten of those hours at night). Additionally, the state requires every teen to take six hours of Colorado Behind-the-Wheel training if they apply for their license prior to turning 16-1/2 years old. (Please see our discounted packages.) Call us with any questions you may have: GOLDEN — 303-404-3880 / LAKEWOOD — 303-232-5600
WHAT DOCUMENTS ARE REQUIRED WHEN APPLYING FOR THE INSTRUCTION PERMIT?
If you are applying for a Colorado Instruction Permit after taking a Driver’s Education class, you will need the following:
· Other items with address can be reviewed by Driver’s License personne Number