By newtm@@111 on November 30th, 2021 in Blog
The roads around the State of Colorado are being driven now more thsn ever, and as a result there is a much higher potential for accidents between vehicles. The State of Colorado brought about legislation to change the education requirements for teen drivers who are getting ready to get their Colorado Drivers Permit and then their Colorado Driver’s License.
The changes the State of Colorado made affect before the teen gets their Colorado Drivers Permit, after getting the Colorado Drivers Permit, and after getting the Colorado Driver’s License. The changes the State of Colorado put together is known as the Colorado Graduated Driving Laws.
Prior to getting the Colorado Learners Permit there are a few requirements for teens, depending on the age of the teenager.
- A 30-hour classroom is required for any teen wishing to get their Colorado Drivers Permit between the ages of 15 and 15 and 6 months. The 30-hour class covers many areas of driving to include distracted driving, traffic laws, etc.
- After the teenager reaches the age of 15 years and 6 months to the age of 16, they are only required to complete a 4-hour class, called Expanded Drivers Awareness.
- After the teenager reaches the age of 17, they are no longer required to complete a classroom course.
No matter what age the State of Colorado Written Permit Test must be passed prior to being issued the Colorado Drivers Permit. The State Colorado set a score 80% or higher as a passing score on the written test. This means the person completing the test may miss up to five questions and still pass, but if they miss six or more then it is a failed test.
After the teenager receives their Colorado Drivers Permit, they need to complete a few steps prior to being allowed to test for their Colorado Driver’s License.
- The first requirement is for any teenager under the age of 18 and states the person must hold their Colorado Drivers Permit for a full year prior to being allowed to test for their Colorado Driver’s License.
- Anyone under the age of 18 must also have driven a total of 50 hours with a parent or guardian. The 50 hours is broken down into 40-day hours and 10-night hours.
- The last requirement is for any driver that is under the age 16 years and 6 months, and they must complete 6 hours of driving instruction with a state certified driving school.
Once the teenager tests and receives their Colorado Driver’s License, they are NOT done with the Colorado Graduated Driving Laws. The State of Colorado places a few more requirements on the teenage driver.
- The teen driver is not allowed to drive between the hours of midnight and 5:00 am unless they are with their parent/legal guardian. There are a few exceptions to this rule, school function, work, religious function with a note, and medical emergencies.
- The State of Colorado also restricts the number of passengers the teen driver is allowed in the vehicle. In the first six months of receiving their Colorado Drivers Permit the teen driver is not allowed any passengers, except for siblings.
- After the first six months of having the Colorado Driver’s License the teen driver may have one passenger under the age of 21 in the vehicle with them.
- After having the Colorado Driver’s License for a full year, the teen driver may have as many passengers under the age of 21 as there are seatbelts in the vehicle.
It is important to note that the passenger restriction is based on time the teen drivers has held the Colorado Driver’s License and not the age of the teen driver. The last restriction placed on the teen drivers says they are not allowed to use their cell phone unless it is an emergency.